Get Stuff Done

23 Apr

I don’t consider myself the most productive person on the planet, but I certainly have had to grow in this area over the years in order to simply increase my productiveness.  When my workload would increase I would just simply work more which caused my rest and play time to nearly vanish.   Working more doesn’t always mean getting more done either.

  Finding ways to be more productive was the key to helping balance a healthy work , rest, and play lifestyle. So here are some of my tips to becoming more productive

1)  You’ve got to make a list. 

When I started making lists, stuff started getting done.  End of story.  I recommend using evernote for list making.  I typically record audio lists.  When something comes up that I need to do, I pick up my phone and record a quick audio file of what needs to be done.

2) No personal calls or texts 

I’m terrible at multitasking but I’m great at getting stuff done.  I believe there is a correlation there.  It’s not possible for me to have a genuine, friendly conversation when I’m “getting stuff done”.  If I’m writing a newsletter and grandma calls, I just call her back when my list is completed.  I love grandma and she knows that.  You may make exceptions for husbands/wives/children.  Generally speaking, personal conversation kills my productivity levels and can always be done later.

3) Schedule Social Media

I’m not going to tell you the Facebook is evil but I will tell you that it kills productivity.  If you are a daily user of social media, block off a period of time that you’re comfortable with and stick to that.  Maybe in the evening before you go to bed or in the morning when you wake up.  Trust me-the fact that “Susie got her nails did” will still be there tomorrow.  The beauty of the internet is that whatever information you’re looking for will be there tomorrow; the time you spent today just browsing, won’t.

4) Organize.

Organization increases productivity. That may mean cleaning your desk or that may mean cleaning up the files on your computer.  For being technologically organized, I again recommend evernote.  If you want to be more productive, get organized.

5)Coffee

Redbull, Green Tea, whatever works for you.  Coffee gets me going.

6) No Music

I know some would argue the opposite of this, but I lose productivity when I’m listening to music.  Maybe it’s because I love music and get caught listening to chordal structures and time signatures, but my brain will quickly escape the task and drift to the music.

7) Rest

God knew what He was doing when He talked about taking a Sabbath.  I have to schedule rest or it doesn’t get done and because my schedule is so sporadic and different from week to week, I have to make sure I’m resting. Resting for some is easier than others.  Just make sure you rest!  Take a day and relax.

8) Play

Play is different than rest.  You need to play too.

9) Tools to productivity

“Work smart, not hard”  There are so many tools out there that can help you increase your productivity.  Do a google search and who knows what you’ll find.

 

God has given each of us a certain number of days of life.  A way to show Him appreciation for the life He has given us is to steward our time wisely.

 

3 Responses to “Get Stuff Done”

  1. Ashley Ramps 04/23/2012 at 6:20 pm #

    This is great and so helpful! Thanks for posting this Brit!

    • Brit Foshee 04/23/2012 at 6:32 pm #

      Thanks Ashley! I hope it helps!

  2. shelleyring 04/29/2012 at 4:54 am #

    That was great, Brit! I’m making a note to check out evernote. And to schedule Facebook time. It really IS a time-killer. :/ Thanks for this post!

Leave a Reply

